Imprimer la fiche

Riesling 2008

back

Riesling 2008

Bottling date :
February 2010
Alcohol :
12.5°
Residual sugar :
6.0 g/l
Total Acidity :
5.3 g/l H2SO4
pH :
3.1
Yield :
85 hl/ha
Optimum drinking period :
2010-2018
Average age of the vines :
29 years
Terroir :
Gravelly-silt on valley floor and calcareous hillsides
Indice :
1

Description :

September 2008 was a very dry month, with nice temperatures but cool nights. The Riesling grape in general on our estate ripened ideally for a long time, but never went into over ripeness. Perfect health, vibrant acidity and good phenolic ripeness mean that the Rieslings are dry, nervous, very mineral and racy in 2008. This wine mostly originates from Gravely soils from the Herrenweg vineyard located in the warm village of Turckheim, but we also added some richer Limestone vineyards to complete the cask. This explains why it opens quickly in its youth, showing attractive fruity flavours, but if kept for a few years, it will also develop serious minerality. Our aim was to be able to harvest an elegant potentially dry Riesling. Not having any noble rot developing was a serious help, as the richness didn’t skyrocket as time passed. The fermentation was quite lazy, which explains the later bottling date, but eventually the yeast managed to transform most of the sweetness.


Tasting Notes :

11/2009: still on its fine lees, but already showing classic vibrant Riesling aromas, full of fresh flowers, wet stones and a hint of minerals. The palate is elegant, harmonious, feels completely dry and finished on a refreshing acidity. Exactly what this Riesling should be!

2/2010: now bottled, this wine has opened up towards more citrus fruit and delicate aromatics. Of course, the long lees contact still impacts this wine that will gradually open up towards summer. The palate shows an easy crisp character that just begs for some light fish, salad courses…

Imprimer la fiche

Riesling 2008

retour

Riesling 2008

Mise en bouteille :
Février 2010
Alcool acquis :
12.5°
Sucre residuel :
6.0 g/l
Acidite totale :
5.3 g/l H2SO4
pH :
3.1
Rendement :
85 hl/ha
Optimum de degustation :
2010-2018
Age moyen des vignes :
29 ans
Terroir :
Graves du quaternaire, marnes, calcaire
Indice :
1

Description :

Septembre 2008 était chaud et sec, mais avec des nuits assez fraîches. L’ensemble des Riesling a pu mûrir pendant une longue période et il ne fallait pas chercher à les récolter trop précocement. Les raisins étaient sains et possédaient des fortes acidités, pH faibles et une bonne maturité phénolique. Les vins sont souvent secs, nerveux et racés avec une belle minéralité. Ce riesling est principalement issu de sols graveleux situés dans le Herrenweg avec un complément de quelques parcelles situées sur sols marno-calcaires. C’est un vin qui est délibérément récolté sans sur-maturité pour rechercher une belle tension en bouche et un fruité délicat. Toutefois, si bu dans quelques années, il pourra développer une jolie minéralité discrète. La fermentation fut très lente, malgré un état sanitaire favorable et une maturité raisonnable, mais les levures indigènes réussirent quand même à fermenter les sucres.


Commentaires de degustation :

11/2009: encore sur lies fines, mais dévoile déjà une structure vibrante et des arômes très types Riesling de pierre mouillée et une jolie minéralité. Le palais est délicat et élégant, fini sec sur une acidité rafraîchissante.

2/2010: après la mise en bouteille, ce vin s’ouvre progressivement et dévoile aussi quelques arômes d’agrumes en plus de sa minéralité. Le long contact des lies aura bien sur marqué ce vin qui devra encore un peu attendre pour se dévoiler.